Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Me and Earl and the Dying GirlMe and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl Review

No spoilers here. You’ll see.

WARNING: The following review is one of those unpopular opinions. For interested readers, please read without butthurt remarks; you have been warned.

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is a book I find very hard to write a review about. It was messed-up. It was a book within a book by Greg Gaines, currently a high school graduate, narrating a series of events during his senior year, and also before that, with a very diverse writing style – including: lists, bullet points, movie script excerpts, and more.

On one hand, I found it funny and brilliant. The characters need not of any character development, the dialogues were very humorous, and the plot was different. It was unique on its own. (And why do people have to compare books about cancer with each other? I mean, ever since The Fault in our Stars, people would think that one cancer book would be the same as what was mentioned, but this book proves otherwise, and I liked that.) In fact, this was the first book that gave me a good humorous impression by making me choke in my own laughter from time to time.

But here’s the thing: I did not feel it. It was addressed in an informal way, which some readers might find reader-friendly (which I did), but I did not feel it. At all. Judging by the elements I just stated from the paragraph above, I could have liked it, but I did not, specifically because of: the writing style. Personally, this was the main thing that ruined it for me. Unlike most Young Adult books, this had a writing style that speaks to you, explains events in a number of diverse ways, goes through flashbacks, enumerates facts and opinions (such as tactics), which, as a result, distracts you from the main story of the book. That was it. All what I’m saying is that everything was going well with the storyline and all that, but the writing style just ruined it. That’s why if I’d watch the trailer, I’d think This one’s good! but it’s not the same for the book because of its writing style. So if this book were addressed in the same, typical YA writing style that doesn’t confuse you from what’s actually happening in the book and whatnot, I could have liked it. Yes, I know, this different writing style intrigued a lot of other readers, but it didn’t for me. It just wasn’ my type. Hell, if you’d let me give this book a catchphrase, it would be “Where The Fault in Our Stars meets Diary of a Wimpy Kid.” Nah, I’m just kidding, but you know what I mean.

Also, did I mention that even though this was a unique and different book, it was very bland? Nope, but yeah, it was, in addition to a poor writing style, bland or plain. The fact that this book was focused in the Absolute Reality of Most High School Kids made it more real, but less interesting. I mean, I usually like a book with a bit of a twist, such as a sweet romance, an unusual plot twist, a moving atmosphere, or something that would keep me hooked. But unfortunately, it was as if that this book was just regular. It was real alright, and it was honest about life, but what makes books interesting is the sense that you could escape into that world, that even though it doesn’t seem real – it makes it real for you, or in other words, the sense of a captivation. Unfortunately, this book didn’t have it, so it was kind of boring to me. This is also the reason why I don’t have spoilers for this review; I have nothing to spoil – it didn’t have a twist or an emotional turn of events. (The trailer had this emotional turn of events though, but that’s because either the movie have been produced in a very pro way or maybe there were actually these turn of events, but then again, the writing style must have distracted me from them)

All in all, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl was a fast-paced book that maintained a good impression, especially humor, although it was distracting, messed-up, and at most, bland.

So if you’re ready to burst into laughter from a reader-friendly perspective, grab this book, because it’s for you.

But if you want a book that’s captivating or that would give you the sense of escaping into a different world in a typical but interesting outlook, then this book is not for you. As you have read, that was what I wanted, and I did not get it.

Was it okay? Yes, it was.
Did I not like it? Yes, I did not.

So since this rating would be somewhere between 1 and 2…
1.5/5

Touché.

*Heartache on the Big Screen by 5 Seconds of Summer is for this book’s theme song. You can view the lyrics here.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

