99 Days by Katie Cotugno

99 Days99 Days by Katie Cotugno
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

It turns out that this book, in fact, is all along about both deadly imperfections and polished flaws when it comes to love. Let’s face it: relationships aren’t all perfect, and 99 Days proves so.

99 Days Review
99 Days introduces you to Molly who’s deadly sketchy when it comes to relationships that she finds her house egged. She then progresses to a series of events that felt real, when in fact, they were a series of experimentations with the Donnellys. When history repeats itself again, she finds herself taking the blame, but should she?

99 Days is the kind of book that brings you to a roller coaster ride of a variety of mixed emotions. It’s not a ride of consistency; not a flat slope of romance, nor that redundant up’s of feeling the lovey dovey sensation and down’s of grieving over a break-up or a loss. Rather, it’s a ride of many thrills and tricks and stunts altogether. In other words, 99 Days is like those extreme rides you see in featured themed parks.

First of all, it brought me to the upward slope of uncertainty. On this stage, it felt exactly like how Molly felt: “I can’t totally decide if I think it’s fun or seedy…” I didn’t know how to feel: should I be happy about this; should I feel bad about this? I was uncertain, and so that captivated me into reading to find the answers to those questions. Next, I was brought down intensely, having my emotions filled with rage that I wanted to throw this book against the wall. Seriously. This is the part where you hate and hate and hate. After that I was brought to the parts not many books have: loops and tricks and stunts. From uncertainty to rage, from love to hate, from comfort to annoyance – it brings you to a whole lot of emotions. Finally, I ended with a conclusion that brings me back to the feelings from the start: rage to uncertainty, hate to love, and annoyance to comfort all over again – all pointing to one word: realization. I got so distracted along the ride that I never knew that it would come to a stop where everything adds up, why everything adds up, and so on. It was a powerful conclusion: of life, and of relationships; how imperfections are deadly, and how some flaws are so polished that you wouldn’t know they were bad things in the first place and that my hate shifted from Molly to the brothers. In short, 99 Days was a ride full of emotions and illusions, distractions and realizations.

That was only the good part though: the thrill from the ride. But the bad part? How it was constructed.

You see, I could have given this a 4 based on how I felt about it; how it molded me and sculpted me into different shapes of feeling, but the ride could have been better if it wasn’t for how it was constructed. Let me list it down:

1. Confusing sentence structures. A lot of sentences were so rowdy I didn’t get what they were talking about. Or at least I did; they were: disorganized, misleading, bewildering, etc.

I can’t believe there was a time when they actually wanted me to come to Bristol specifically so I could run, but that’s what happened: the tan, athletic woman in the stands at my meet against Covenant of Sacred Heart in March of sophomore year, then again at practice the next morning.

They would eventually make sense, but they would be confusing at the start. I can assure you that there are more like this.

2. Freakin punctuation marks. This is so elementary. Please check your punctuation marks.

His name is Jay, Imogen tells me as she finishes cleaning up behind the counter, switching the music on the ancient iPod they use for music in the shop. He’s a regular at French Roast; he’s nineteen, goes to culinary school in Hyde Park. He’s in town to do an externship at the Lodge.

I didn’t know if there was a dialogue because of missing quotation marks that I had to reread it again.

3. Too many Uh-huh’s. TOO MANY. FROM EVERY SINGLE CHARACTER. WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK.

4. Overused italicization for emphasis.
• “‘I said where’s the hose, Mom?’”
• “’Who would you like me to blame, then?’”
• “’You’re home?’”
• “’I’m sorry, are you smiling?’”
• “I bite the inside of my cheek—of course they’re friends, of course they would be.”

5. SPELL CHECK!

All in all, 99 Days is a book of a ride that reveals you that relationships aren’t all perfect: some are deadly or flawed or full of illusions. It brings you to a variety of roller coaster tricks that stirs your emotions varyingly. But beware of how it’s constructed. If you’re a grammarian or a grammar nazi then this is definitely not for you.

Recommended for people who want to experience an extreme.

3/5

*How You Get the Girl! By Taylor Swift! (that’s the theme song of the book – in my opinion at least)

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

