Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

Will Grayson, Will GraysonWill Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Ugh. Where do I begin? Probably that this is the gayest read ever in the most non-homophobic way (I can’t say “least homophobic” — it’s still homophobic).

Will Grayson, Will Grayson Review
To start with, I’m not pretty sure that the synopsis is clear enough, so just to make things clear, here is my synopsis:

Two boys: Will Grayson, Will Grayson; One straight, one gay. One big-ass (and when I say big-ass, I mean, REALLY big) lurking creature of yet gay fabulosity: Tiny Cooper. Tiny Cooper, the one who revolves the entire story. Tiny Cooper, the main heart of the plot. Tiny Cooper, the one who would have made this book never exist if it weren’t for him. Tiny Cooper, hell, this book should have been called Tiny Cooper. So when Straight Will Grayson and Gay Will Grayson intersect their lives on one, cold night, Tiny Cooper fits his big-ass butt. Lives are about to change. A musical is about to change. Most of all, views of friendship and romance are about to change.

So I pretty much made my point: this book is gay. Nothing wrong about that, but, people who didn’t know and wouldn’t find it as their cup of tea should know that they would freak out. Like I did. I should have known, with David Levithan being there, but I didn’t, because I thought not all of his works are gay, and besides, John Green is there, so if you might have thought of the same thing, then we’re on the same boat.

Sobutand (an awesome word from the book) let’s cut to the chase, starting with the good I found in this book. First of all, this book was basically a book. of. wisdom. Wisdom, meaning, quote-worthy — all about friendship, romance, and the likes. I swear, a lot of lines were straight-up genuine, and each taught me a lesson or two. Here are a few examples, starting with my favorite:

You know what sucks about love? That it’s so tied to truth.

You like someone who can’t like you back because unrequited love can be survived in a way that once-requited love cannot.

Maybe tonight you’re scared of falling, and maybe there’s somebody here or somewhere else you’re thinking about, worrying over, fretting over, trying to figure out if you want to fall, or how and when you’re gonna land, and i gotta tell you, friends, to stop thinking about the landing, because it’s all about falling.

When things break, it’s not the actual breaking that prevents them from getting back together again. It’s because a little piece gets lost – the two remaining ends couldn’t fit together even if they wanted to. The whole shape has changed.

I believe that’s enough, but trust me when I say that there are more like this, and they’re perfect. Moving on, it was so hilariously funny and quirky. Will Grayson, Will Grayson was absolutely one of the books that made me laugh out loud, sometimes because I could relate, or sometimes because they were true, such as:

(rofl! what? are you really rolling on the floor laughing? well, please stay down there for a sec while I KICK YOUR ASS.)

Thirdly, I was amazed how the characters kept consistency. I mean, this was written by two different perspectives from two different authors, and the characters didn’t seem to break off character. There were hints of it, but only hints, so good job. Lastly, it was original. Very original. It wasn’t a typical thing with characters going like “huhu I’m gay and I’m gonna go all Romeo and Juliet with my boyfriend” or “huhu I broke up with someone, but, oooooh, I found a new one!” No. It had very original story elements.

Here’s the thing though: it being wise, hilarious, or original didn’t mean I liked it.

1. The story was not necessarily about two Will Grayson’s. No. Mostly, it’s about how one big fat gay guy AFFECTED two Will Grayson’s. The big fat gay guy turned down Will Grayson, but in the end, they “loved each other in the most heterosexual way,” while he went with a lovey dovey and unlovey undovey turn of events with Will Gayson. So mostly, it’s about Tiny.

2. I was cringing as soon as I read the book. Certain thoughts at first I had were “um”, “this is so fucked-up”, “what the fuck”, “seriously”, “ugh”, and “gross”. Why? It’s so cringe-worthy. Like I said, I’m not being homophobic here, but the kind of gay romance presented in this book was way over the line. For instance:

grayscale: i want you to lick my clavicle.
boundbydad: i am licking your clavicle.
grayscale: ooh my clavicle feels so good.
boundbydad: naughty, naughty clavicle.
grayscale: mmmmmm
boundbydad: wwwwwwww
grayscale: rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
boundbydad: tttttttttttttttttttt

I understand that they were doing an impression of a scornographic dialouge, but it wasn’t totally necessary. Maybe it was. But some people would not like it, and that includes me, so I’m giving the “some people” a heads-up.

3. I did not feel the love. Straight Will Grayson and Jane? Fake. It was so unreal and bland. I didn’t know why, but those were what I felt between them. Maybe because Jane acted like “Ooooh Will Grayson likes me I should totally dump my boyfriend and hang out with him” or because Will acted like “She’s ugly and ugly and ugly. Oh wait, actually she’s so pretty and I like her now.” And then, when they did get together, there was no spark. They acted LIKE FRIENDS. There wasn’t anything that actually proved them loving each other, so it all seemed fake as if it was scripted.

4. Original plot, but boring. And predictable. The only thing that was exciting was seeing how the Will Grayson’s meet, but after that, nothing.

In the long run, Will Grayson, Will Grayson is about Tiny affecting two Will Grayson’s. It’s funny-haha, original, and wise. But it has a theme not everyone would really like, and I made my points, so it’s really up to you.

Recommended for people looking for something fresh and new.

A big, black 1/5, hovering in the sky.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

