Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Brave New WorldBrave New World by Aldous Huxley
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“North, north-east, east, south-east, south, south-south-west; then paused, and, after a few seconds, turned as unhurriedly back towards the left. South-south-west, south, south-east, east….”

Brave New World Review

My first classic and it was ace! A sci-fi utopia with a touch of Shakespearean conventions (no doubt, Shakespeare is a part of this book), this book is a win.

In Brave New World, we are introduced with the civilization Huxley had envisioned, a world that is too civilized to be true. And yet, so many of what composes it can be found today, yes,
today
. Elevator lifts, drug usage, helicopters, contraceptives, abortion, premarital sex, and so many others that are distinctly similar to the things we see now as normal. These are what make the book so sci-fi, yet, real. We are then shown “the Reservation”, where Savages or uncivilized people are caged inside a wire fence, which contrasts civilized and uncivilized. And, in my opinion, this contrast is significantly powerful to readers — it shows the advantages and disadvantages of civilization. For example, in civilization, there is peace and happiness, but with the contrast we realize that there is no beauty, no truth, no fear, no danger, no excitement, no thrill, and what make us humane (or do they?).

But I don’t want comfort.
I want God,
I want poetry,
I want real danger,
I want freedom,
I want goodness.
I want sin.

However, even though Brave New World was utterly enthralling and breathtaking with all of its wonder in what we can say utopia, in its interesting characters and their behaviors (civilized and uncivilized; John the Savage’s definite and tragic response to civilization communicated to me), in scientific explanations, in the story it is composed of (marvelous; this sci-fi was well-integrated with a story that perfectly shows Huxley’s vision in a moving way), and in everything else that makes it indeed a brave new world, it still lacked something: captivation. Personally, Brave New World lacked me the sense of captivation; I wasn’t intrigued nor looking forward for it — it wasn’t what you can say a “page-turner” because, well, the aim of this book is to show, not to entertain. So, yes, I was shown with what Huxley thinks of the future, and it fascinated me, to think how he had come up with things so brilliant and so real in such time. His world communicates to readers — shows them how stability is horrifying yet awe-striking. Shows them how happiness comes with a price. How our future will come with a price. Makes you think.

4/5

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

