Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

Milk and HoneyMilk and Honey by Rupi Kaur
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Milk and Honey Review

First off, I understand how several people find this belonging to “poetry”, but it really just is a collection of free verse poems. In other words, it does not follow a specific structure, rhythm, pattern, or rhyme; rather, it follows the rhythm of natural speech.

Second, I liked how Kaur communicates with her readers through this book. It is divided into four parts: the hurting, the loving, the breaking, and the healing. With more than a hundred poems, I was somehow with Kaur as she journeys through her life in these poems, and I found them very descriptive and narrative. As a poet, I understand how these poems were a way for Kaur to express herself and to feel more or less better with what she was facing, including love, loss, trauma, abuse, healing, and femininity. In one of her poems, she expresses this very idea:

your art
is not about how many people
like your work
your heart
is about
if your heart likes your work
if your soul likes your work
it’s about how honest
you are with yourself
and you
must never
trade honesty
for relatability

Third, I loved the drawings. They were minimalistic, but tell a lot.

Fourth, unfortunately, it was … shallow for me. Yes, I understand how these poems were made to release emotion, but they could have been so much better if Kaur spent more time thinking and writing so that she could utilize free verse exceptionally, or make other forms of poetry aside from free verse. To be honest, I find Kaur’s free verse underwhelming; it is basically prose but words are separated in lines, and what she is trying to deliver is very straight to the point and does not require analysis or interpretation to figure what she is trying to say. Free verse is a good form of poetry, but since Kaur used it without much depth, then other forms of poetry could have suited her themes better, like a ballad. Yes, her honesty and drawings were artistic enough, but what makes poetry, poetry (for me), are figurative languages and allegories that make readers feel overwhelmed when they discover hidden meanings.

All in all, I liked the message of the book, and how Kaur narrates her story, but this is not the type of poetry I was looking for. I was, unfortunately, disappointed.

2/5

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

