The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the TrainThe Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The Girl on the Train Review

“On the way back down the road, he passes me in his car, our eyes meet for just a second and he smiles at me.”

The Girl on the Train has potential. It is built on a plot that, when delivered well, would shock its readers in the end. This is also why that it is fast paced, like a train; a page-turner, though I was, however, not overwhelmed in the end, because it was leading its readers all along to the expected.

It left clues. Identifiable ones. The ones that stick with you. The ones that you can’t just brush aside. To have a good thriller, the clues must still be there, but they need to be so underwhelming for readers to feel idiotic of not noticing them in the first place. My experience with the The Girl on the Train was triumphant; I stuck to the clues that Hawkins intended to leave and ignored scenes that were meant to mislead. And so, the shock value had continued to lessen as I neared the end.

Another downside of The Girl on the Train was the comma splices. Hawkins is fond of using commas to join clauses, and though it sounds all right in speech, it is a writing style error. Say, for example, [she wants to add a dramatic clause, she would use a comma]. Being the reader I am, I was slightly bothered.

Still, The Girl on the Train was worth the read. It was fun flipping over the pages and wanting to know whether I was right with my theories.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

